Legislative Council Portfolio Committee 6 (Transport and Roads) conducted a site visit to Orchard Hills for the inquiry into Acquisition of land for major transport projects. 

The Terms of Reference for this inquiry are as follows: 

That Portfolio Committee No. 6 - Transport and Customer Service inquire into and report on the acquisition of land by Transport for New South Wales and related agencies in relation to
major transport projects, with particular reference to:

(a) the response of agencies to the Russell and Pratt Reviews into the Land Acquisition (Just Terms Compensation) Act 1991,

(b) the conduct of agencies in acquiring:

(i) land for the WestConnex Project,

(ii) land for metropolitan rail projects,

(iii) land for any project related to the Western SydneyAirport,

(iv) land for the Parramatta Light Rail Projects (Stages One and Two),

(v) land zoned as commercial land acquired between 2015 and 2020,

(vi) land for the North Wilton estate acquired by Landcom,

(vii) any other specific land acquisitions that may give rise to community concerns about current government process

(c) how government agencies identify land for acquisition and the extent to which the price of the land and the identity of landowners are taken into account when determining the route and sites for such projects,

(d) how government agencies conduct direct negotiations with landholders in relation to purchasing land/properties prior to, or in parallel with, the compulsory acquisition process, and the extent to which such process is fair, unbiased and equitable,

(e) the interaction of the planning, infrastructure and transport planning systems of government to support best practice outcomes for the NSW community,

(f) whether government agencies are adequately protecting the public against 'landbanking' and other speculative practices undertaken by persons or interests seeking to profit from future transport projects and rezoningdecisions,

(g) whether, and what legislative or other measures should be taken by the government to capture the uplift in land/property value created as a result of such transport projects,

(h) the conduct of agencies and government in relation to the determination of the route of the M9 (Outer Sydney Orbital), and

(i) any other related matters.

2. That the Committee report by 1 March 2022.

Committee membership
Ms Abigail Boyd MLC The Greens Chair

Hon Mark Banasiak MLC Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party Deputy Chair

Hon Scott Farlow MLC Liberal Party

Hon John Graham MLC Australian Labor Party

Hon Mark Latham MLC* Pauline Hanson's One Nation

Hon Shayne Mallard MLC Liberal Party

Hon Taylor Martin MLC ** Liberal Party

Hon Daniel Mookhey MLC Australian Labor Party

* The Hon Mark Latham MLC is a participating member from 11 March 2020 for the duration of
the inquiry.

** The Hon Taylor Martin MLC substituted for Hon Sam Farraway MLC from 19 April 2021 for
the duration of the inquiry.

For more information on this inquiry, please visit the Committees website.